Conde Nast Sued By Two Interns

Conde Nast is a mass media company that was founded in 1909. This magnificent company has a viewing audience of 164 million across 20 different print and media brands, including Vogue, Vanity Fair, and The New Yorker. All of Conde Nast’s magazines have a wide range of focus, such as travel, food, and of course, my favorite, fashion.

Because Conde Nast is such a well-known company of such elite magazines, it is a dream for many to want to work there. Working for Vogue magazine is my dream job, so last December, once I was old enough to apply to be part of their internship program, I was shocked to find out that as of 2014, Conde Nast will no longer be taking interns.

Conde Nast was sued by two of their past interns because they feel as if they were paid below minimum wage and not treated fairly. The results from the law suit no longer permit Conde Nast to run an internship program, causing a huge change in the industry.

It saddens me to hear this news because it will only make it that much harder for me to achieve my dream job and one day become the creative director of Vogue magazine. I am not saying that Conde Nast’s past interns deserved to be treated in a harsh manner, but I’m also not saying that eliminating the intern program was the right step. I hope that sometime in the near future I can intern at Conde Nast, because if I am unable to start at the bottom how can I make it to the top?

http://nypost.com/2013/11/21/conde-nast-interns-speak-out-on-program-shutdown/

 

